Skip Navigation

Schedule and Results

Result: L 6-13

Baseball vs Wesleyan University

Wednesday, March 19th, 2014 – 10:30 a.m MST/12:30 p.m. CDT at Tucson, Ariz. - Kino Sports Complex

Knights drop season opener to Wesleyan

TUCSON, Ariz- The Carleton College baseball team found itself down early and eventually fell to Wesleyan University (Conn.) in the season opener by a score of 13-6. The Knights were led by Josh Zoellmer’s (Sr./Richfield, Minn./Richfield) first career home run. Hayden Tsutsui (So./Northridge, Calif./Chatsworth) also contributed three of the team’s 14 hits.

After two flawless innings by Carleton starter Anderson Cole (Sr./Aspen, Colo./Aspen), the Cardinals struck in the third for a two-out tally. The Knights responded in the bottom half of the frame when Zoellmer hit an inside-the-park-home run to center field.

Wesleyan scored another three runs over the next two frames in large part to a pair of Carleton errors. However, the Knights tied the score once again in the bottom of the fifth on a RBI single from Ray Yong (Sr./Elmhurst, Ill./York) and a two-run double by Cody Bohlman (So./Irvine, Calif./University High School).

The Cardinal offense took control of the game in the sixth inning, plating seven runs on six hits, with four of the tallies coming with two out.

The Knights’ bullpen of Jukie Tsai (Sr./New York, N.Y./Friends Seminary), Bohlman, and Andy May (Jr./Edina, Minn./Edina) limited Wesleyan to one run over the next three frames. Carleton pieced together three hits in the seventh inning and pushed across two runs on a throwing error and an RBI single by Kevin Johnson (Sr./St. Anthony, Minn./DeLaSalle).

The Knights return to the field at the Kino Sports Complex on Thursday, March 20th, to face University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. First pitch is scheduled for 1:00 p.m. MST (3:00 p.m. CDT).

More Event Info