Skip Navigation

Schedule and Results

Result: L 1-15

Baseball vs University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

Thursday, March 20th, 2014 – 1:00 p.m. MST/3:00 p.m. CDT at Tucson, Ariz. - Kino Sports Complex

UW-La Crosse hands Knights second straight loss to start season

TUCSON, Ariz. — The Carleton College baseball team fell behind early for the second straight game and was unable to comeback against the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, falling by a final score of 15-1. Hayden Tsutsui (So./Northridge, Calif./Chatsworth) continued his strong performance, pushing his batting average to .556 with two of the Knights’ five hits.

The Eagles (5-5), who had outscored the opposition 36-3 over the last two games, kept the bats going against Carleton and scored five runs in the top of the first inning before adding another two more tallies in the third.

Carleton (0-2) was able to break through in the top of the sixth when Tsutsui tripled home David Stillerman (Sr./Evanston, Ill./Evanston) who had reached on a single. Sam Cattau (Jr./Park Ridge, Ill./Walther Lutheran) held the Eagles to just one run through his first three innings of work out of the bullpen.

The Knights look to even their season record up on March 21 when they play two games at the Kino Sports Complex. First pitch against Carroll University is slated for 2 p.m. MST (4 p.m. CDT) with a 6 p.m. MST (8 p.m. CDT) contest against Claremont-Mudd-Scripps.

More Event Info