Skip Navigation

Schedule and Results

Result: L 8-19

Baseball vs. Middlebury College

Sunday, March 24th, 2013 – 2:00 p.m. CDT / 12:00 p.m. MST at Tucson, Ariz. - Kino Sports Complex

Knights Outslugged by Middlebury

TUCSON, Ariz. – The Carleton College baseball team put together one big inning, but this proved to be too little against the high-powered offense of Middlebury College, falling by a final score of 19-8. Jeff Dsida (Jr./Winnetka, Ill./New Trier) went 3-for-4 with two triples, and Hayden Tsutsui (Fy./Northridge, Calif./Chatsworth) hit his third home run in four days to lead the Knights.

Carleton (5-6) put itself in an early hole, allowing the Panthers (1-2) to score seven runs over the first two frames. The Knights responded with one in the third and seven in the fifth to take the lead. Kevin Johnson (Jr./St. Anthony, Minn./DeLaSalle) and Cody Bohlman (Fy./Irvine, Calif./University) accounted for three RBI apiece over this stretch.

Johnson put the Knights on the board with an RBI groundout in the third and drove in the first two runs of the fifth by launching a double to left-center field. One batter later, the hot-hitting Tsutsui smoked a home run over the left-field wall. After an error, walk, and single loaded the bases, Bohlman drove in all three with a clutch, two-out triple to the right-center-field gap.

The lead was short-lived, as Middlebury tallied two runs in the next half inning to put itself ahead for good. The Panthers added five more in the sixth and four in the eighth to seal the victory.

The Knights return to the field tomorrow against Oberlin College at Tucson Electric Stadium at the Kino Sports Complex. First pitch is slated for 4:00 p.m. MST (6:00 p.m. CDT).

More Event Info