Skip Navigation

Knights Awarded At-Large Bid to NCAA Championships

November 17, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Full NCAA Announcment

2013 NCAA Cross Country Championships logo (square)INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – On Sunday afternoon, the Carleton College men’s cross country team received the news for which the Knights had been hoping. Carleton received one of 16 at-large bids to the upcoming NCAA Championships and will be participating at the national meet for the first time since 2007.

The Knights finished fourth at the Central Region Championships and were positioned well for a spot at nationals, but until the official announcement is made, squads across the country wait with fingers crossed.

Carleton is one of five teams from the region that will be racing next Saturday. St. Olaf and Central captured the region’s two automatic qualifiers, while Luther, Carleton, and Loras have each been nationally ranked and proved worthy of a spot in the 32-team field.

Sophomore Hart Hornor (Seattle, Wash./Roosevelt) was already ticketed for a spot at the NCAA Championships after finishing as one of the top seven individuals not on a team automatically qualifying, however, now he will have lots of company for the trip to Hanover, Ind.

Not only are the Carleton men headed to the national championship meet, but Carleton’s women’s cross country squad will participate as well after securing an automatic bid with its performance at the regional meet. This marks the first time since 2005 that both Carleton teams will compete at the NCAA Championships. This is the fifth time overall that feat has been accomplished as both Knights’ teams also raced at the 1981, 1995, and 2004 national meet.

The women’s race will begin at 11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT with the men’s race is slated to start at 12:30 p.m. ET/11:30 CT.

More information at the NCAA Championships hosted by Hanover College may be found at http://www.hanover.edu/athletics/crosscountry/championships