Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Men's Cross Country

Carleton Athletics

Quick Facts

Head Coach: Dave Ricks
Telephone: 507-222-7808
Alma Mater: Union College, 1976

2012 Highlights:
Finished 12th of 27  teams at the NCAA Central Region Championships
-- Marcus Huderle: All-MIAC (15th)
    Finished 46th at Regional Championships
-- Bobby Davis: All-MIAC Honorable Mention (16th)
--Guthrie Cunningham: All-MIAC Honorable Mention (21st)

Top Returners:
Marcus Huderle, Eden Prairie, Minn. (Eden Prairie)
Guthrie Cunningham, Finland, Minn. (Duluth East)
Jacob Hoerger, Chapel Hill, N.C. (Chapel Hill)
Joe Haase, Madison, Wis. (Madison West)

Top Newcomers:

2013 Captains:

-Captured NCAA Division III national championship in 1980, Carleton’s only team national title
-Five NCAA national top-5 finishes (1975, 1976, 1979, 1980, 1981)
-One individual national champion, Dale Kramer (1976, 1977), a 4-time All-American in cross country, inducted into DIII Track & Field Hall of Fame in 2013
-Made five straight nationals appearance from 1992-96
-21 national meet appearances as a team, most recently in 2007 (Joe Sepe, Quentin Kennedy, John Nowinsky, Andy Jahn, Eamon Monaghan, Meeks Brucker, Charlie Gamble)
-11 individual national qualifiers: Phil Stewart (1971), Chris Kamper (1984, 1985), Dan Casper (1986), Kelsey Anderson (1989), Ben Casper (1989), Will Kemper (1990, 1991), Matt Hooley (2001, 2002, 2003), Dan Bucy (2003), John Nowinsky and Ryan Martinez (2006), Charlie Gamble (2009)
-Won MIAC titles in 1994, 1995 and 2002
-Finished second in 1996 and 2007 MIAC Championships
-Three individual MIAC champions: Will Kemper (1992), Kevin Theissen (1995) and Matt Hooley (2003)
-Captured 20 Midwest Conference titles, including nine straight from 1974-82
-Two MWC champions: Roger Johnston (1974) and Dale Kramer (1976, 1977)
-First year of competition was 1913 in a dual meet against St. Olaf College.