Cycling site

Club Officers 2015-16

Captains : Jonah Hudson-Erdman and Peter Lindquist

Interested in Cycling? Contact Jonah or Peter  ( or

About the Cycling Club

The Carleton Cycling Club is an organization designed to promote bicycle road racing at the College. We field a competitive racing team, but also welcome cyclists of all abilities and experience. We actively participate in races throughout the Upper Midwest that are sponsored by local teams. We encourage members of the club to apply for a United States Cycling Federation (USCF) license so as to be able to participate in many local races.

Although past years have seen the team compete on the collegiate level as well as in USCF events, the team has more recently concentrated racing activities to Minnesota and Wisconsin USCF events.

Our season begins during the last third of winter term, when we train indoors at Laird Stadium on rollers and resistance trainers. The racing season begins the last week of the term, and continues through a spring term. The team will compete at races almost every weekend throughout spring term; several involve a longer road trip, but most races are within an hour's drive of Carleton.

Practices during winter term take place four times a week; with the onset of clear roads and warmer temperatures, the team begins training outside. During spring term, the team practices every weekday, with racing on the weekends. During the week, practices range in intensity from easy days of relaxed riding to one long ride of four hours.

2015-16 Roster

Alex Aeppli
Saki Amagai
Nick Anaclerio
Melissa Bain
Arnav Bajaj
Emily Balczewski
Nelson Brandy
Hannah Barnstone
Quinn Batten
Maya Ben-Shahar
Alex Berlin
Andrew Biehl
Sam Blackburn
Alex Botelho
Shannon Branigin
Jeffrey Capelouto
Joe Chen
Jonathan Chow
Keven Christianson
Maya Collier
Emily Culver
Peter de Hueck
Emma Dempsey
Fangge Deng
Spencer Dillon
Jackie Dowling
Abby Easton
Ethan Ellis
Edie Emmings
Suzanna Erlich
Rebecca Fairchild
Mara Finkelstein
Renay Friendshuh
Sarah Goldman
Berit Goodge
Willa Gruver
Erin Gustafson
Daniel Hamalainen
Abby Hellman
Chelsea Herrera
Bennett Herson-Roeser
Jonah Hudson-Erdman
Ian Kapelke
Jacob Karmel
William Kay
Prasidda Khadka
Charlie Kilman
Paul Kirk-Davidoff
Robert Krossa
Pallav Kumar
Ryan Lee
Abhimanyu Lele
Anisa Lester
Ava Lewis
Peter Lundquist
Emma Link
Jialun Luo
Alysala Malik
Emily Marks
Alex Mathson
Philip-Peter Maxeiner
Anna Meyer
Dustin Michels
Zach Mitchell
Geoffrey Mo
Galen Moller
Joseph Nardi
Brandon Nelson
Roberto Nieves
Andres Parra
Paul Peterson
Gerrit Postema
Jordan Pruzenski
Walter Pugil
Keenan Ronayne
Sam Sauerhaft
Chenoa Schatzki-McClain
Ryan Scholessmann
Alexandra Shin
Michael Shin
Owen Solis
David Soper
Justine Szafran
Matt Thibodeau
Kiran Tomlinson
Max Trostel
Marcus Van Ginkel
Morgan Vought
Edmund Wackerman
Abby Walling Jacob Wasserman
Daniel Wong
Ari Zuaro

2015-2016 Practice Schedule

Tuesdays and Fridays:  3:30pm-5pm
Saturdays:  9am-12pm


History of the Club

The Carleton Cycling Team was the first co-ed intercollegiate competitive team at Carleton.

Carleton College cycling has existed in more or less formal incarnations since the early 1980s, and has a proud tradition; the team won the NCC and qualified for nationals in 1991. That season, then freshman Josh Meltzer won the conference road race, and a woman on the team finished 19th in the criterium at nationals, beating current mountain bike superstar Juli Furtado in the process.

CCC was founded as a club dedicated to all facets of cycling - touring, road riding, mountain biking, etc. The club organized the "Ironperson Triathlon" in the spring and the "Halloween Biathlon" in the fall (which we did invent.) Carleton Cycling ran regular "Bike Repair Day" clinics in front of Sayles. These clinics allowed anyone to bring their bike in to be looked over and, if necessary, repaired for the cost of parts. It led tours around the nearby state park when the fall colors were out. And, of course, it supported the road racing team.

Among the founders of CCC were Mike Record, Chris Payne, Chris Zegal, Tom Bell, Neal Baker, Jonah Murdock, and Matt Stone.  Most of the founders had met in training for the Triathlon. Chris Zegal was the first president of the club. Chris Payne became the director of the North Central Collegiate Cycling Conference, the regional body of the National Collegiate Cycling Association. The NCCA sanctioned all of the club's races and sponsored the national championships.

Carleton attended the national collegiate cycling championships as the NCCCC representative in 1990 and 1991. (In 1990, St. Johns also represented NCCCC.) Kim Griffith was the student who took 19th in the 1990 championship criterium (held at Stanford U.), beating Juli Furtado. Also on the 1990 nationals team were Mike Record, Neal Baker, Chris Zegal, and Kevin Sebert. In 1991, the nationals were held at Eastern Washington University in Cheney, WA. Members of that team included Chris Zegal, Chris Payne, Tom Bell, Kevin Sebert, and Krista Van Vorst.

The team's primary opponents in the NCCCC were St. John's and Gustavus. Both hosted at least one race each year. There was also a race down at Iowa State every year. The ISU race was the first the team ever entered, in 1989.

St. Johns hosted the conference championship (individual time trial, road race, and criterium) in 1990; Carleton hosted in 1991 (with a team time trial replacing the individual.) Carleton hosted at least two other conference events from 1989-1991.

Apple Computers was the major sponsor of the cycling team, giving about $5,000 in 1990. Domino's Pizza in Northfield also helped with race sponsorship, as did a local hair stylist.

The CSA was quite generous to the club providing it with money for race trips (including the cross-country flights to Palo Alto and Cheney), tools and miscellaneous parts, and some racing gear (including 5 disk wheels.) Much of their generosity was due to the popularity of the club - it regularly had a membership of over 100 students.  The other factor was our "community service" with the bike repair days.

Some other race team members: Mark Cranston, Kevin Noel, Scott Griffith, Kea Umstaad, Susan Ford, Steve Alsdorf, and Jon McBride.

More recently, 1996 graduate Peter Everett had a successful season with the Saturn/Penn Cycles sponsered Flat City Cycling Club in Minnesota finishing in the top 10 in three races this past summer.


The president of St. Olaf Cycling and Sean Noonan worked together to organize a road race on Saturday 4/14. It went off extremely well with a total of 80+ riders participating from all over the midwest. 

In racing, John McMurry finished 27th out of 31 in the B race. Sean Noonan, Blake Hansen and Nate Ryan finished 7th out of 15 in the Team Time Trial. Finally, Sean Noonan finished 7th out of 25 in the A race. 


Cycling, Bicycle, Racing, Road Race, Club Sport

Other Club Sports