Recent Grants

  • Lori Pearson,Lori Pearson Professor of Religion, has been awarded a prestigious New Directions Fellowship from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for her project “Gender, Religion, and Social Theory: Marianne Weber and the Origins of Religious Studies.” This substantial fellowship will enable her to thoroughly address legal, cultural, and societal debates about women’s rights that shaped theories of religion in Germany around 1900; and demonstrate the influence of 19th century intellectual Marianne Weber, wife of pioneering sociologist Max Weber. The funding primarily supports summer and sabbatical leave time and graduate coursework. For more see the Carleton News article.

  • Cameron Davidson, Cameron DavidsonProfessor of Geology and Director of Carleton's Interdisciplinary Science and Math Initiative, has secured additional support through the Keck Geology Consortium for his project, “South-Central Alaska - Tectonic evolution of the Chugach-Prince William terrane, south central Alaska.” The subaward, funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF), supports travel expenses for 2014 summer field research in Alaska and fellowships for six student researchers. The award is the latest in a series of grants coming through the Keck Consortium and one grant directly from the NSF to support Davidson's project, in which he is collaborating closely with a colleague at Union College (Schenectady, NY).

  • Cecilia Cornejo,Cecilia Cornejo Visiting Assistant Professor of Cinema and Media Studies, received a $5,000 McKnight Individual Artist grant from the Southeastern Minnesota Arts Council (SEMAC). Funds will enable Professor Cornejo to complete “With the Skateboarders,” an experimental documentary project filmed entirely in Northfield. Additionally, the grant will allow her to stage a premiere in Northfield, and make the film available for wider viewing.

  • Katie RyorThe Henry Luce Foundation has awarded a $50,000 grant to Carleton in support of interdisciplinary study of Asia and the environment. The grant, awarded by the Luce Initiative on Asian Studies and the Environment (LIASE), will enable faculty to identify and develop an array of courses, themes, resources, and collaborations related to the study of Asia and the environment across the curriculum. The goal of the project is to begin training a generation of students who are equipped not only with knowledge of local conditions, languages, history, and culture but also an ability to work on complex environmental challenges. Project Director Professor Kathleen Ryor will coordinate key faculty in Asian Studies, Environment and Technology Studies (ENTS), and the sciences as they conduct the project both on-campus and off-campus, in cooperation with Asian partners. 


  • Susan Susan Jaret McKinstryJaret McKinstry, Helen F. Lewis Professor of English and Associate Director of the Digital Humanities, has been approved to join the Fulbright Scholar Specialist Roster in the field of Communication/Media Studies. The program enables U.S. faculty and professionals to engage in short-term collaborative projects - focusing on strengthening and developing higher education institutions - with universities overseas.

  • Susan Singer, Susan SingerLaurence McKinley Gould Professor of the Natural Sciences, continues her IPA (Intergovernmental Personnel Act) assignment, that began in 2013, as Director of the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Undergraduate Education (DUE) Division. As director of DUE, Susan supports the division’s mission of promoting excellence in undergraduate STEM education. Her responsibilities with DUE – a division of the Directorate for Education and Human Resources – entail a grant-funded leave from her Carleton responsibilities for the term of her appointment at NSF.

  • Marty BaylorMarty Baylor, Assistant Professor of Physics, has been granted a prestigious Single-Investigator Cottrell College Science Award from the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement for her project “Optimization of Index Contrast in Diffusive Photopolymers Able to Create Waveguides and Fluid Channels in Optofluidic Devices.” The award will move Prof. Baylor closer to her goal of creating 3-D, portable devices for optical sensor applications. The grant will also support undergraduate researchers to assist in building apparatus, acquiring data, analyzing results, and devising future experiments.

  • Laska JimsenLaska Jimsen, Assistant Professor of Cinema and Media Studies, recently was awarded an Artist Initiative grant in Visual Arts from the Minnesota State Arts Board to support completion of the experimental 16mm film “Circles & Arrows, Matrices & Trees.” She will screen cuts of the film at colleges, universities, and arts centers; and conduct workshops on the photochemical process of 16mm hand processing.

  • In June 2014, Trish Ferrett, Professor of Chemistry, Nancy Braker, Lecturer in Biology and Director of the Cowling Arboretum, and Ross Elfline, Assistant Professor of Art History, will participate in the Associated Colleges of the Midwest's (ACM) SAIL (Seminars in Advanced Interdisciplinary Learning) Contested Spaces Seminar in Colorado, “Developing Environmental Stewardship through Immersive Experiences in Contested Spaces: Collaboration and Learning Across Boundaries." They aim to create curricular materials on environmental stewardship at and beyond Carleton.

    Trish Ferrett  Nancy Braker Ross Elfline

  • Dr. Benjamin E. MaysThe Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has awarded Carleton College a grant of $420,000 to continue the College's Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship program. The Foundation created the Mellon Mays program to foster the undergraduate and graduate educations of talented students belonging to populations that have historically been underrepresented in the American humanities professoriate. Carleton's grant will provide academic-year and summer stipends to up to 20 undergraduate Fellows who will work on humanities education, research, and training. Participants will be chosen through a competitive process designed to identify students who are passionately interested in pursuing a career in higher education. Now in its 25th year at Carleton, the Mellon Mays program focuses specifically on Fellows' later years at college, preparing them for graduate school and beyond by supporting rigorous advanced independent research.

  • Arjendu PattanayakArjendu Pattanayak, Professor of Physics, has been named a KITP Scholar for 2014-2016 by the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics (KITP) at the University of California, Santa Barbara. This award funds travel to KITP for a total of six weeks over the next three years to work on and discuss theoretical physics with those in residence at the Kavli Institute.

  • Poskanzer & AndersonThe Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has awarded Carleton College and St. Olaf College a $1.4 million grant to support the four-year project—Broadening the Bridge: Leading Carleton and St. Olaf Colleges into a More Collaborative Future—to advance collaboration in library services, information technology, management operations, and academic programs.

    Building on efforts that began in 2012 with a planning grant from the Foundation, the institutions can now implement plans to strengthen liberal arts learning and teaching in ways that each college could not accomplish individually, and collaborate to reduce current costs or contain cost growth. Read more at this Carleton News post.