Carleton College Biology Department

Carleton teams receive GOLD and SILVER medals in the 2015 Mayo HLHS IMPACT Program!

Gold – Carleton College: HLHS is caused by down-regulation of CYP26, aberrant retinoid signaling, and impaired endocardial cushion formation. Kaitlyn Cook, Charles Eyermann, Lucy Wasserburg, Taylor Wells, Andrew Yang (Mentored by Bridget Jacques-Fricke).


Silver – Carleton College: HLHS is caused by compounding effects of mutations in Cx43 and environmental disturbances to the AhR signaling pathway due to chlorinated toxins. Nermine Abdelwahab, Tawa Alabi, Olgaby Martinez, Shraddha Raghavan, I-Hsuan Su (Mentored by Debby Walser-Kuntz).

Innovative Minds Partnering to Advance Cardiac Theranostics (IMPACT) is an undergraduate collaboration in partnership with the Mayo Clinic Center for Regenerative Medicine and the Todd and Karen Wanek Family Program for Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome (HLHS), which has an ultimate goal of delaying or preventing the need for heart transplantation in people with HLHS.