Skip Navigation

Professional News

  • Deborah Appleman
    Photo: Eric Sieger
    October 25, 2012

    Appleman Returns To Syracuse, Receives Tolley Medal

    Deborah Appleman, the Hollis L. Caswell Professor of Educational Studies and Chair of Educational Studies, returned to Syracuse University, where she served as a visiting professor, to receive the prestigious Tolley Medal in recognition of her work on literacy and areas of scholarship related to life long learning. While on campus, Appleman delivered a lecture entitled "Liberal Learning behind Bars: Literacy Education with the Incarcerated."

  • October 17, 2012

    Myint Appears on LinkAsia TV

    Tun Myint, assistant professor of political science at Carleton, appeared on Dec. 2 on LinkAsia TV regarding Secretary of State Hillary Clinton's recent visit to Burma/Myanmar. Myint's appearance comes a little under four minutes into the segment. He spoke about what reforms might be possible within the country and which the current regime are likely to oppose.

  • October 17, 2012

    Nieuwkoop Awarded Fulbright Fellowship in Germany

    Carleton alumnus Andrew Nieuwkoop '06 (Holland, Mich.), who graduated with a B.A. in chemistry, has been awarded a Junior Research Fulbright Fellowship to conduct post-doctoral research in Berlin, Germany. Nieuwkoop will be studying membrane protein function and structure under Hartmut Oschkinat at the Leibniz-Institut für Molekulare Pharmakologie in order to find future targets for pharmaceuticals. His position builds upon research he conducted for his Ph. D., which was awarded in 2011 by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

  • October 17, 2012

    Kohen Published in Journal on Undergraduate Research

    Chemistry professor Daniela Kohen has coauthored an article published in the Council on Undergraduate Research Quarterly, a journal about student-faculty collaborative research. The article, "Developing a Regional Computational Chemistry Consortium Through Undergraduate Research Conferences," was coauthored by Macalester College professor Keith Kuwata and Hope College professors Will Polik and Brent Krueger.

  • October 17, 2012

    Weisberg Featured on Walker Art Center Website

    Joel Weisberg, the Herman and Gertrude Mosier Stark Professor of Physics and Astronomy and the Natural Sciences at Carleton College, was recently featured in an article on the website of the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis. The article was an interview with "experimental geographer" Trevor Paglen, with whom Weisberg wrote a paper for the August 2012 issue of Astronomical Journal. Paglen, whose work often focuses on covert or "black" government operations in space, was introduced by Weisberg at an appearance at Carleton last year.

  • October 17, 2012

    2012 Graduate Ramirez Wins Student Paper Award from Minnesota Economic Association

    Ruben Ramirez '12 (St. Louis Park, Minn.), who graduated from Carleton last June with a B.A. in economics, has received the second-place award in this year's Undergraduate Student Paper Contest from the Minnesota Economic Association. The MEA, which is sponsored by the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis, is a professional connection between business and economic professionals and college economics professors. Ramirez won the award for his paper "Historical Economic Integration in Europe: Application of a Threshold Auto-Regressive Model With Price Data from 1295-1914," which looks at the gradual process of economic integration among European cities.

  • October 17, 2012

    Bookstore Manager Tripp Ryder Named President of MIBA

    Congratulations to Tripp Ryder (Bookstore Trade Book Manager), who was named President of MIBA (Midwest Independent Booksellers Association) at its annual conference October 3-5. Tripp will serve as president through early October of 2013. MIBA is a regional not-for-profit trade association that includes locally owned and operated independent bookstores in Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin, as well as the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

  • July 3, 2012

    Josh Meltzer '95 Praised for Saving Three in Lake Superior Rip Tide

    Media outlets around the state of Minnesota are praising former Carleton College swim team captain Josh Meltzer, Class of 1995, with saving three people on Monday, who were caught in a dangerous rip tide off the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth.

    The Duluth News-Tribune reports that Meltzer pulled two women and a pre-teen girl out of Lake Superior after they were overcome by a rip current at Park Point.


  • May 31, 2012

    Aparna Ramaswamy '97 and the Ragamala Dance Company Awarded Prestigious McKnight Fellowship

    Just four months after being named the 2011 Artist of the Year by the Star Tribune, Aparna Ramaswamy, Carleton Class of 1997, and her mother Renee Ramaswamy, have been awarded a prestigious McKnight Fellowship. The mother and daughter are the artistic directors, choreographers, and principal dancers of the internationally renowned Ragamala Dance Company and School. Full details on the award can be found in today's edition of the Star Tribune.

  • April 2, 2012

    Carleton's Semaphore Repertory Dance Company Selected to Perform at the National College Dance Festival

    Carleton's Semaphore Repertory Dance Company has been honored by a national panel of adjudicators by being selected to perform in the Gala Concert at the Central Regional American College Dance Festival in Washington, D.C.

    Held May 25-27, American College Dance Festival Association's 2012 National College Dance Festival presents three concerts featuring some of the finest dance works selected from colleges and universities throughout the country. Each concert showcases approximately ten dances, with a total of thirty schools participating in the Festival galas.  


  • February 29, 2012

    Carleton Announces Faculty Promotions

    The Carleton College Board of Trustees recently approved the promotion of eleven faculty members, effective September 1, 2012.

  • February 29, 2012

    Carleton Awards Tenure to Five Faculty Members

    Five members of the Carleton College faculty have been awarded tenure by the Board of Trustees, as announced by Beverly Nagel, Dean of the College. Effective September 1, 2012, these five faculty members will become associate professors in their academic department.