• Guy Kalland

    March 30, 2006 at 1:32 pm

    Guy Kalland, head men's basketball coach, has been named the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division III west region's coach of the year, after leading the Knights to the MIAC title and the school's first NCAA tournament appearance in 2005-06.

  • John Schott at Walker

    March 30, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    John Schott, the James Woodward Strong Professor of Liberal Arts, was recently in a program at the Walker Art Center discussing "The Spectacle of Death: The Role of Disaster and Tragedy in Shaping Community." Using Andy Warhol's work as a springboard, this forum explored ways that human-caused and natural disasters shape culture. The event was associated with the Walker's exhibition "Andy Warhol/Supernova: Stars, Deaths and Disasters, 1962-64."

  • Susan Singer and bestseller

    March 30, 2006 at 11:25 am

    Susan Singer, professor of biology and lead author of the book America's Lab Report, recently made the bestseller list at National Academy Press.

  • Rob Hardy

    March 30, 2006 at 11:23 am

    Rob Hardy, visiting assistant professor of classical languages, was invited by professor emeritus of English Emilio DeGrazia of Winona State University to give a poetry reading from his book The Collecting Jar at the Jon Hassler Theater in Plainview, Minnesota.

  • Roger Jackson

    March 30, 2006 at 11:19 am

    Roger Jackson, the Stephen R. Lewis, Jr. Professor of Religion and the Liberal Arts, recently presented a paper entitled "What Good is Meditation?" at a Columbia University conference entitled "Mind and Reality: An Interdisciplinary Symposium." He also published a review-article on Pema Chodron's No Time to Lose in the spring 2006 issue of Buddhadharma, and his article "Ambiguous Sexuality: Imagery and Interpretation in Tantric Buddhism" was reprinted in volume 6 of Paul Williams's eight-volume colelction Buddhism: Critical Concepts in Religious Studies (Routledge, 2005).

  • Shuffleton talk

    March 30, 2006 at 11:15 am

    George Shuffleton, assistant professor of English, gave a talk in late March at Yale for the British Studies Colloquium. The talk was entitled "John Carpenter's Copy of the Philobiblon and the Management of Oblivion in Fifteenth-Century London."

  • Carleton freshman Elise Cordo placed eleventh in the solo finals at the 30th annual U.S. Collegiate Synchronized Swimming Championships, held recently at Stanford University. Cordo is from Wayzata, Minnesota.

  • Professor of psychology and cognitive studies Kathleen M. Galotti made a presentation to the 2006 meeting of the Society of Research on Adolescence entitled "Goal Setting and Decision-Making in At-Risk Youth." Her coauthors were visting assistant professor of educational studies Mary Gustafson and senior lecturer in psychology Steven Kozberg.

  • Silvia Lopez

    March 27, 2006 at 11:22 am

    Silvia L. Lopez, associate professor of Spanish, presented two papers recently—one at the annual convention of the Modern Language Association in Washington, D.C., and the other at the XXVI International Congress of the Latin American Studies Association in San Juan, Puerto Rico. In San Juan she also ran a workshop on "Innocent Voices," which won this year's LASA Merit Award in film.

  • Greg Hewett

    March 17, 2006 at 4:06 pm

    Greg Hewett's most recent book of poetry has been published by Coffee House Press. The Eros Conspiracy (2006) has been described by noted poet Carolyn Forché as ". . . an urbane, sophisticated meditation on sexuality, politics, and history, from ancient Greece to our time, with impressive forays into the failed Soviet imperium, Mao's China, and Rimbaud's France."

  • Sidney Wolff

    March 17, 2006 at 10:49 am

    Carleton trustee Sidney Wolff ’62, H ’85 was awarded the 2006 American Astronomical Society Education Prize. Wolff, who works as an astronomer at the National Optical Astronomy Observatory in Tucscon, Ariz., was cited for her "extraordinary commitment to science education throughout her career . . . and "for her efforts in highlighting and advancing astronomy education policy at the local, national and international levels."

  • Christopher Tassava

    March 15, 2006 at 2:43 pm

    Christopher Tassava, assistant director of Corporate and Foundation Relations, recently co-authored two articles on online learning. One discusses the correlation between student satisfaction and faculty participation in online courses and the other examines whether face-to-face events are a necessary aspect of otherwise online courses and programs. The articles were published in, respectively, Online Assessment, Measurement and Evaluation: Case Studies from Higher Education, K-12, and Corporate, edited by David D. Williams and Mary Hricko, and The Handbook of Blended Learning: Global Perspectives, Local Designs, edited by Curtis J. Bonk and Charles R. Graham. Both articles originated from Tassava's work at Capella University, and were co-authored with colleagues there.