Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Carleton Athletics


Childs-Walker Latest Knight Awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

July 10, 2012 at 10:31 am
Simone Childs-Walker
All-American Simone Childs-Walker is the third member of Carleton's women's track & field team to be awarded the NCAA Postgrad Scholarship

NORTHFIELD, Minn. – Recent Carleton College graduate and the Knights’ only two-time first-team Academic All-American, Simone Childs-Walker ’12 (Seattle, Wash./Lakeside) received one of the NCAA’s top honors as she was awarded a NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship. She is one of 58 scholarship winners nationwide to receive the $7,500 award, with 29 female and 29 male student-athletes from a spring sport each securing a grant for post-graduate studies.

Childs-Walker, an 11-time All-American in cross country and track and field, becomes the 33rd Knight to receive this prestigious award, with 16 of those coming over the last decade (SEE CHART AT BOTTOM OF RELEASE). She is the third member of the women’s cross country and/or track & field program to be recognized, joining former Knights Anna Prineas (1989) and Kelly Lovett  (2011).

The NCAA awarded the one-time, non-renewable grants to the 58 student-athletes in all three NCAA divisions who participated in spring sports this academic year. These sports include: baseball, men’s and women’s golf, men’s and women’s lacrosse, women’s rowing, women’s sand volleyball, softball, men’s and women’s tennis, men’s and women’s outdoor track & field, men’s volleyball, and women’s water polo.

Of the 29 female recipients this year from spring sports, only seven attended Division III institutions.

Childs-Walker is the only MIAC student-athlete to earn the NCAA postgraduate honor for the spring sports this year. Four conference competitors received the award during the fall: Bethel University volleyball player Nicole Wriedt; University of St. Thomas football player Daniel Chapman; and a pair of honorees from Gustavus Adolphus College, soccer player Benjamin Ceder and football player Brad Kruckeberg.

The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually—87 for men and 87 for women—with one third of those for each the fall, winter, and spring sports seasons. The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition. The grants can be used for part-time or full-time postgraduate study at a university or professional school.

The NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship was created in 1964 to promote and encourage postgraduate education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes through their participation in NCAA championship and/or emerging sports. Athletics and academic achievements, as well as campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership, are evaluated. An equitable approach is employed in reviewing each applicant's nomination form to provide opportunity to all student-athlete nominees to receive the postgraduate award, regardless of sport, division, gender or race. In maintaining the highest broad-based standards in the selection process, the program aims to reward those individuals whose dedication and effort are reflective of those characteristics necessary to succeed and thrive through postgraduate study in an accredited graduate degree program.

Carleton College NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Winners



1967   --  Robert Paarlberg   --  Football
1969   --  Michael Steiner   --  Men’s Cross Country, Men’s Track & Field
  --  Thomas Weaver   --  Men’s Basketball
1973   --  Mark Williams   --  Football
1977   --  Frederick Hicks   --  Men’s Cross Country, Men’s Track & Field
1978   --  Dale Kramer   --  Men’s Cross Country, Men’s Track & Field
1981   --  Robert Pappas   --  Men’s Cross Country, Men’s Track & Field
1982   --  James Tolf   --  Men’s Basketball
1983   --  Paul Vaaler   --  Football, Baseball
1989   --  Anna Prineas   --  Women’s Track & Field, Cross Country
1993   --  Arthur Gilliland   --  Football
1995   --  Lydia Neilsen   --  Women’s Swimming & Diving
1997   --  Jonathan Bougie   --  Men’s Cross Country, Men’s Track & Field
1999   --  Joshua Wilhelm   --  Men’s Basketball
2000   --  Sandra Helquist   --  Women’s Track & Field
2001   --  Carl Tape   --  Men’s Soccer, Men's Track & Field
2002   --  Angela Soucek   --  Women’s Swimming & Diving
2003   --  Jason Brown   --  Men’s Swimming & Diving
2004   --  Jeremy Schultz   --  Men’s Soccer
  --  Matt Hooley   --  Men’s Indoor Track & Field
  --  Britta Veitenheimer   --  Women’s Swimming & Diving
2005   --  Katherine Freeman   --  Volleyball, Women’s Basketball
  --  Daniel Bucy   --  Men’s Track & Field, Cross Country
  --  Kristi Colbenson   --  Women’s Track & Field, Women’s Basketball
2006   --  David Watson   --  Men’s Soccer
  --  Stephen Harris   --  Men’s Cross Country, Men's Track & Field
2007   --  Kassie Wells   --  Women's Golf
2009   --  Ted Marschall   --  Men's Swimming & Diving
2010   --  Robert Carlton   --  Men’s Soccer
  --  Ross Hamilton   --  Men’s Soccer
2011   -- Will Taylor   -- Football
  -- Kelly Lovett   -- Volleyball, Women's Track & Field
2012   -- Simone Chilids-Walker   -- Women's Cross Country, Women's Track & Field