Skip Navigation

Men's Championship

2006 NCAA Division III Men’s
Swimming & Diving Championships
hosted by Carleton College, University of Minnesota Aquatic Center, March 16-18, 2006
Day 3 Championship Finals Recap

Link for ordering podium award photos

Minneapolis – Kenyon College won three of the night’s six individual events, highlighted by Andrejs Duda capturing a record-tying ninth individual national title, as the Lords captured an unprecedented 27th consecutive NCAA Division III Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships title at the University of Minnesota’s Aquatic Center.

The Lords scored 498 points to outdistance Denison by 153 points, as the Big Red ended with 345 points. The Lords string of titles is unmatched by any other program in NCAA history, male or female, across all three NCAA divisions. The next longest championships streak belongs to the Kenyon women’s swimming and diving program, which captured 17 straight titles from 1984-2000.

Duda, meanwhile, cruised to the 200-yard butterfly title by 1.87 seconds, tying UC San Diego’s Travis Miller’s Division III men’s record with nine individual career national titles, set from 1991-94. Duda won the 100-yard butterfly three times (2003, 2004 and 2005), the 200 butterfly three times (2003, 2004, 2006) and the 200-yard individual medley three times (2003, 2005, 2006). With his 15 relay titles, he broke the record for most individual and relay combined titles in Division III, as former Kenyon great Marc Courtney-Brooks won 23 combined titles from 2001-04. Duda was appropriately named the “Swimmer of the Meet” and Denison coach Gregg Parini was named swimming coach of the year.

Kenyon left little doubt as to the team outcome by winning three individual titles and the lone relay on the final night of competition, by far its best night of the meet. Freshman Eric Dunn opened by winning the 1,650-yard freestyle in 15:22.21, a nine-second margin of victory. Junior Joseph Gosselar took the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:01.57 and Duda won the 200 butterfly. The 400-yard freestyle relay squad of Duda, Jim Berger, David Dehart and Marc Christian won in 3:02.20, holding off a hard-charging Wheaton (Ill.) squad by 0.27 seconds. Kenyon won four of the five relays contested during the national meet.

Other individual winners included North Central senior Mark Schmitt taking the 200-yard backstroke in 1:49.29, the first swimming or diving national title for a male North Central student-athlete. Grove Cityh sophomore Caleb Courage captured the 100-yard freestyle in 44.51, the first swimming national title for a Grove City student-athlete (Grove City owns five individual Division III diving titles).

Hamilton senior Mike Salmon completed a sweep of the diving events, taking the three-meter event with a score of 511.45 points, outdistancing defending champion Mike Shaw of Springfield, who was second at 501.20 points. Salmon was easily named the “Diver of the Meet” and his coach, Todd Kolean, was named diving coach of the year.

Following Kenyon and Denison in the team raced was Emory at 310 points, Johns Hopkins at 303 and Williams with 295. Locally, St. Olaf finished eight with 156 points and Gustavus was 11th with 118. Host school Carleton finished 31st with 18 points behind a pair of All-America performances by rookie Ted Marschall.

Hy-Tek downloadable file of meet for coaches

Related Documents