Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Carleton Athletics

35 Knights earn Academic All-Conference Honors

January 25, 2018 at 11:00 am
MIAC Academic All-Conference
MIAC Academic All-Conference

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. –The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) announced its Fall 2017 Academic All-Conference honorees today, with Carleton College student-athletes earning distinction 35 times. To qualify for recognition, student-athletes must be a sophomore, junior, or senior, with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.

To earn the MIAC’s academic all-conference award, student-athletes must meet athletic requirements in addition to the academic standards.

Athletically, student-athletes in fall team sports (football, volleyball, soccer) must compete in 50 percent of their team's regular-season varsity contests. Cross country student-athletes are required to finish in the overall top 100 or their team's top seven at the 2017 MIAC Cross Country Championship.

A total of 6 honors went to Knight seniors (pictured), 13 to juniors, and 16 to sophomores. (Full list can be found below.)

MIAC Academic All-Conference honors are announced twice annually, after the completion of the fall and spring academic semesters. To visit the MIAC Academic All-Conference archives, click HERE.

Carleton College Academic All-Conference honorees for Fall 2017.

Men’s Cross Country
Tris Dodge (So., Oakland, Calif.)
Cameron Meikle (So., Hamilton, Mont.)
Conrad Phelan (So., St. Louis Park, Minn.)

Women’s Cross Country
Ruthie Boyd (So., Breckenridge, Colo.)
Emily Kaegi (Sr., Williamstown, Mass.)
Emilee Fulton (So., St. Paul, Minn.)
Meg Mathison (So., Waunakee, Wis.)
Sarah Nazarino (Jr., Seattle, Wash.)
Helen Schuda (So., Seattle, Wash.)
Annie Utzschneider (Jr., Chestnut Hill, Mass.)
Lizzy Lynn (Jr., Edwardsville, Ill.)

Matt Ganter (Jr., Maple Grove, Minn.)
Jacob Heath (Jr., Oshkosh, Wis.)
Henry Liedl (Jr., Breezy Point, Minn.)
Fletcher Metz (So., Oconomowoc, Wis.)

Men’s Soccer
Peter Keel (So., Roseville, Minn.)
Mark Roth (Jr., Evanston, Ill.)
Kamran Kelly (So., St. Paul, Minn.)
Brandon Hilliard (So., Anoka, Minn.)
William Lanzillo (Jr., Glen Ellyn, Ill.)
Tashi Tsering (Jr., Stillwater, Minn.)
Spencer Weeden (S0., Stoughton, Wis.)
Andy Younkins (So., Beaverton, Ore.)

Women’s Soccer
Ruby Kazemi (Jr., Missoula, Mont.)
Hailey Mair (Jr., Lexington, Ky.)
Madeline Marker (So., Edina Minn.)
Laura Kiernan (So., Madison, Wis.)
Anika Thomas-Toth (So., Seattle, Wash)
Emma Wasend (So., Denver, Colo.)
Madeline Topf (Sr., Ames, Iowa)

Celeste Chen (So., Yorba Linda, Calif.)
Katie Tritschler (Sr., Los Altos, Calif.)
Lucy Stevens (Sr., Portland, Ore.)
Anna Flitner (Sr., Presho, S.D.)
Elyse Wanzenried (Jr., Minnetonka, Minn.)