Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Carleton Athletics

Kent Hanson voted to All-West Region Team

March 11, 2019 at 2:47 pm
Kent Hanson
Kent Hanson
Photo: Nathan Klok


NORTHFIELD, Minn. – Carleton College forward Kent Hanson (Jr./St. Paul, Minn./St. Paul Academy) added to his list of accolades when he was voted to the All-Region squad for 2018-19. This is the 10th time since 2003 that a member of the Carleton men’s basketball program has received this particular recognition.

“A nice honor for a very talented basketball player,” said Carleton head coach Guy Kalland. “From the day Kent committed to Carleton, we knew we had a very special player and an exceptional young man as well. A coach could not ask for anything more. Kent is a most-deserving recipient of this award.”

The All-Region squads are divided up, with five players apiece landing on the first, second, and third teams. Hanson is a third-team pick and is one of three MIAC players to take home All-Region recognition, joining conference player-of-the-year and first-team All-Region honoree Booker Coplin of Augsburg and third-team selection David Stokman of Saint John’s.

An all-round performer, Hanson is one of only three players in the West Region to average at least 18.0 points and 8.0 rebounds during the regular season while registering 25 or more steals on the year. A repeat selection to the All-MIAC squad in 2018-19, Hanson bettered those minimums as he averaged 19.2 points, 8.3 rebounds, and 1.2 steals per game. Those figures ranked third, fourth, and seventh, respectively, in the conference this season.

Hanson accumulated 10 double-doubles during the regular season, the top total in the MIAC and tied for sixth in the region. Among West Region players, his scoring average ranked 18th and his rebounding total was 12th-best.

Hanson also ranks fifth among active West Region players with 16.4 career scoring average (min. 1200 career points).

This is the 18th year has named its All-Region teams. Players were nominated for these awards by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools. A total of 716 players were nominated nationwide. The ballot was then made available to SIDs, who voted for a predetermined number of players in their region.


2019  Kent Hanson ( All-West Region third team)
2018  Kevin Grow ( All-West Region first team)
2016  Kevin Grow ( All-West Region third team)
2014  Taylor Hanson ( All-West Region third team)
2013  Scott Theisen ( All-West Region first team)
2011  Jeremy Sutherland ( All-West Region second team)
2009  Zach Johnson ( All-West Region first team)
2008  Zach Johnson ( All-West Region third team)
2006  Dan Forkrud ( All-West Region third team)
2003  Scott Christensen ( All-West Region second team)