Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Carleton Athletics

Tom Sawatzke and Scott Theisen Named to All-MIAC Team

February 27, 2013 at 11:59 pm
Tom Sawatzke (left) and Scott Theisen
Tom Sawatzke (left) and Scott Theisen both joined Carleton's 1000-point club this season.

Full MIAC Release

ST. PAUL, Minn. -- The dynamic duo of seniors Tom Sawatzke (Monticello, Minn/Monticello) and Scott Theisen (Champlin, Minn./ Champlin Park) were tabbed to the 2012-13 Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team. This is Sawatzke’s second straight year a member of the All-MIAC team, making him the 28th player in the history of Carleton men’s basketball to be a repeat all-conference selection. Sawatzke and Theisen both joined Carleton’s 1,000-point club this season, becoming the 26th and 27th members respectively. The seniors capped off their careers in a big way, leading the Knights back to the MIAC Playoffs.

Sawatzke will graduate with 1,145 career points, the 15th-highest total in team history. He drained a conference-best 81 three-pointers during the year, the third-highest single-season figure in Carleton history. That figured included a trio of game-winning long-range shots, including the MIAC Quarterfinals vs. Bethel on Feb. 20.

Sawatzke averaged 17.9 points per game this season, third in the league. He averaged 3.0 made three-pointers per contest, ranking 15th across NCAA Division III. He also converted 85.2 percent of his free-throw attempts, again third-best in the MIAC. Sawatzke logged a league-high 37.3 minutes per game.

All-MIAC honorable mention a year ago, Theisen was among the conference’s elite with his well-rounded performances throughout the year. He paced the MIAC with 5.6 assists per game—which ranked 18th across NCAA Division III—and 2.19 steals per contest. He finished fourth in the conference in both scoring (17.1 points) and rebounds (7.4). In fact, he is the only NCAA men’s basketball player across any level (Division I, II, and III) to average at least 17 points, 7 rebounds, 5 assists, and 2 steals this season.

His ability to stuff the stat sheet led to a pair of triple-doubles, the first two in team history. The initial one was a 22-point, 12-rebound, and 10-assist effort during a win over Concordia on Jan. 23. He followed that up 17 days later with a 21-point, 10-rebound, and 10-assist performance at Macalester. A two-time selection to the Team-of-the-Week, he finished his career with a bang, going out with a career-high-tying 31 points as the Knights gave nationally No. 1-ranked University of St. Thomas all it could hand in the semifinals of the MIAC Playoffs.

Theisen concluded his career with 1,100 points, ranking 19th all-time at Carleton. He had 151 assists this season, second-most in team history. He joined Zach Johnson '09 as the only players in team history with 1000 career points, 500 rebounds, 200 assists, and 100 steals.

As part of a conference-wide sportsmanship initiative, the conference announced the seventh annual All-MIAC Sportsmanship team for men's basketball. Members of the sportsmanship team are selected by their coaches and teammates as individuals who demonstrate ideals of positive sportsmanship both on and off the field of competition. Carleton’s representative on the squad is senior Tyler Goetz (Sr./Chaska, Minn.), who started all 27 games this season.

Carleton Men’s Basketball Repeat All-Conference Selections

Player Years Names All-Conf.
Tom Sawatzke 2012, 2013
Jeremy Sutherland 2010, 2011
Seth Jonker 2010, 2011
Tommy Drake 2007, 2008
Zach Johnson 2006, 2008, 2009
Jake Phillips 2006, 2007
Dan Forkrud 2005, 2006
Kyle Beste 2003, 2005
Tanner Schieck 2002, 2003, 2004
Jim Lovrien 1996, 1997
Josh Wilhelm 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999 
Tom Klimisch 1994, 1995
Gerrick Monroe 1991, 1992, 1993
Rob Schlotthauer 1987, 1988
Mark Wandmacher      1983, 1984
Jim Tolf 1980, 1981, 1982
Roy Hanson 1978, 1979
Leon Smith 1973, 1974
Steve DeLapp 1968, 1969
Tom Weaver 1968, 1969
Dave Current 1961, 1962, 1963
Ivan Grimm 1958, 1959, 1960
Mike Armacost 1956, 1958
Bob Buis 1953, 1954
Laurie Slocum 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955
Howie Rosenblum 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955
Curt Carlson 1950, 1951
Jack Thurnblad 1947, 1948, 1949