Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Men's Cross Country

Carleton Athletics

Schedule and Results

Result: 5th of 13 teams; Huderle 7th

Men's Cross Country at Les Duke Invitational

Saturday, September 8th, 2012 – 10:45 AM at Grinnell, Iowa - Oakland Acres Golf Club

Huderle 7th, Knights 5th at Les Duke Invitational

GRINNELL, Iowa – Marcus Huderle (Jr./Eden Prairie, Minn./Eden Prairie) placed seventh overall to lead the Carleton College men’s cross country team in its season debut. The Knights finished fifth out of 20 squads competing at the Les Duke Invitational, although seven of those programs ended up with incomplete team scores.

Huderle crossed the line at 25:53, only three seconds from a top-five finish. Senior Bobby Davis (Eden Prairie, Minn./Eden Prairie) was the next Knight to complete the 8-kilometer course, posting a time of 26:30, which ranked 16th in the team competition.

Veterans Jacob Hoerger (Jr./Chapel Hill, N.C./Chapel Hill), Aaron Hirsh (Sr./Shaker Heights, Ohio/Shaker Heights), and Dylan Cheever (Sr./Minneapolis, Minn./Southwest) rounded the scoring for Carleton by placing 28th, 41st, and 43rd in the field of 207 racers.

“I was very happy with how all the guys ran today,” said head coach Dave Ricks.

“Marcus Huderle started the year off at about the point he was at the end of last season, so I'm very happy with his confidence and race structure at this early date. Bobby Davis and Jacob Hoerger also looked very good with strong finishes, and Aaron Hirsh ran possibly his best cross country race in a Carleton uniform. Dylan Cheever is much improved after a very good summer of training.”

Matt Berens of Bethel won the race, while Central College took the top spot in the team competition with 36 points, followed by Wartburg (74), Bethel (109), Grinnell (125) and Carleton (135).

Carleton next competes on Saturday, Sept. 15 in what will be the first Associated Colleges of the Midwest Cross Country Championships run in conjunction with the St. Olaf Invitational. Race time is 10:00 a.m. for the men and 10:45am for the women.

More Event Info