Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Carleton Athletics

Knights capture team, individual USTFCCCA All-Academic honors

August 4, 2017 at 11:48 am
U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association
U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association

NEW ORLEANS — Both the Carleton College men’s and women’s track and field teams once again ranked among the NCAA Division III’s top-10 in cumulative team GPA, making the Knights one of two program to accomplish that feat in 2017. Along the way, both squads earned the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association’s (USTFCCCA) All-Academic Team Award. Carleton also saw a dozen Knights pick up individual All-Academic Awards.

The Carleton women owned a cumulative team GPA of 3.615, which was seventh-best in Division III and 14th across all three divisions of the NCAA. On the men’s side, the Knights were sixth in D-III with a 3.48 GPA and tied for eighth overall in the NCAA.

For individuals to qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track & Field Team, the student-athlete must compile a cumulative 3.30 GPA and have either:
• competed at the NCAA Indoor or Outdoor Championships OR
• finished the regular season ranked among the national top-50 in an individual event or top-35 in a relay event on the NCAA performance list.

The 12-person Carleton contingent of individual award winners was the second-largest combined total among MIAC programs. The Knights group of honorees includes eight members of the women’s team and four from the men’s program, tying Carleton for second and third, respectively, in the MIAC.

The quartet of men’s honorees are: Jack Buckner ’18 (Seattle, Wash./Northwest); Donson Cook-Gallardo ’18 (Moscow, Idaho/Moscow); Camden Sikes ’18 (Berkeley, Calif./Berkeley); and Ben Withbroe ’17 (Takoma Park, Md./Albert Einstein).

The list of women’s team members recognized includes: Damali Britton ’18 (Phoenix, Ariz./Desert Vista); Alexa Feeney ’18 (St. Charles, Ill./St. Charles North); Trish Hare ’17 (Northbrook, Ill./Glenbrook North); Emma Grisanzio ’17 (Carol Stream, Ill./Wheaton North); Meg Mathison ’20 (Waunakee, Wis./Waunakee); Nicole Nipper ’17 (Minnetonka, Minn./Minnehaha Academy); Annalise Peebles ’20 (Neenah, Wis./Appleton); and Claire Trujillo ’17 (Anchorage, Alaska/Grace Christian).

This is the third consecutive year that Cook-Gallardo earned an USTFCCCA individual award, and Hare was a repeat winner in 2017.

USTFCCA Academic Awards —   Team  |  Individual