Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Carleton Athletics

A decade of academic excellence for track and field teams

July 26, 2018 at 12:33 pm
Carleton College's individual USTFCCCA All-Academic Award winners
Carleton College's individual USTFCCCA All-Academic Award winners

NEW ORLEANS — For the 10th consecutive year, both the Carleton College men’s and women’s track and field teams earned the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association’s (USTFCCCA) All-Academic Team Award. The Knight men ranked seventh in NCAA Division III with a 3.50 cumulative team GPA while the women were 20th with a 3.58 figure. Carleton also saw a nine student-athletes pick up individual All-Academic Awards.

This marks the third straight year that the Carleton men ranked among D-III’s top-10 in team GPA and the fifth time during so over the last decade. The women’s track and field team has also notched five top-10 academic rankings during that same stretch. In 2018, only six Division III institutions had both their men’s and women’s teams rank among the top-20 in team GPA.

For individuals to qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Award, the student-athlete must compile a cumulative 3.30 GPA and either:
• compete at the NCAA Indoor or Outdoor Championships OR
• finish the regular season ranked among the national top-50 in an individual event or top-35 in a relay event on the NCAA performance list.

The nine-person Carleton contingent of individual award winners is tied for the second-largest combined total among MIAC programs. The Knights’ group of honorees includes six members of the men’s team and three from the women’s program.

The half-dozen men’s honorees are: Jack Buckner ’18 (Seattle, Wash./Northwest); Donson Cook-Gallardo ’18 (Moscow, Idaho/Moscow); Tris Dodge ’19 (Oakland, Calif./College Prep); Zach Kulstad ’21 (Savage Minn./Prior Lake); Lucas Mueller ’21 (St. Paul, Minn./Nova Classical Academy); and Matt Wilkinson ’21 (Minnetonka, Minn./Minnetonka).

The list of women’s team members recognized includes: Damali Britton ’18 (Phoenix, Ariz./Desert Vista); Emily Kaegi ’18 (Williamstown, Mass./Mount Greylock); and Meg Mathison ’20 (Waunakee, Wis./Waunakee).

This is the fourth consecutive year that Cook-Gallardo earned an USTFCCCA individual award, while the trio of Britton, Buckner, and Mathison were repeat winners in 2018.