Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Men's Track and Field

Carleton Athletics

Schedule and Results

Result: 1st of 3 teams // 10 event winners

Men's Track and Field hosts Carleton Triangular

Friday, January 18th, 2019 – 5:30 p.m. at Northfield, Minn. - Recreation Center

Knights win 10 events at Carleton Triangular

By Oliver Wolyniec '19
Zach Kulstad
Zach Kulstad
Photo: Geoffrey Mo '19

NORTHFIELD, Minn. – Peter Keel (Jr./Roseville, Minn.), Zach Kulstad (So./Savage, Minn./Prior Lake), and Lucas Mueller (So./St. Paul, Minn./Nova Classical Academy) each won two individual events to lead the Carleton College men’s track and field team to victory in the Carleton Triangular on Friday evening.

Keel claimed first place in both the long jump and the triple jump, notching marks of 6.36 and 13.31 meters, respectively. Kulstad excelled on the track and in the field, winning the 400-meter dash with a time of 52.06 seconds and taking first in the high jump after clearing 1.82 meters.

Mueller, a week after clocking the top 3000-meter run time in the country, won both the mile run and the 1000-meter run. His times were 4:14.89 and 2:33.99, respectively.

Tris Dodge (Sr./Oakland, Calif./College Prep) and Matthew Wilkinson (So./Minnetonka, Minn.) went 1-2 in the 3000-meter run, finishing in 8:40.28 and 8:42.00.

In the 55-meter dash, Bryan Richter (Jr./Des Moines, Iowa/Lincoln) turned in a time of 6.71 seconds, good for first place. Richter, Nick Brusilow (So./Grosse Pointe, Mich./Liggett), Ben Schwartz (Jr./Mankato, Minn./Mankato East), and Joey Cook-Gallardo (Jr./Moscow, Idaho) were victorious in the 4x400-meter relay, crossing the finish line in 3:28.31.

Cook-Gallardo finished just behind Mueller in the 1000-meter run with a second-place time of 2:36.02.

In the pole vault, Owen Schuster (Fy./Batavia, Ill.) claimed first with a mark of 3.82 meters.

The Knights won the meet with a team score of 125 points. Hamline University came in second (98), and St. Olaf took third (77).

Carleton will return to action on Saturday, Jan. 26 at 10:00 a.m. at the MSU-Mankato Mark Schuck Open.