Skip Navigation

Schedule and Results

Result: L 0-9

Women's Tennis vs. Tufts University (Spring Break trip)

Tuesday, March 21st, 2017 – 11:30 am PDT / 1:30 pm CDT at Claremont, Calif. - The Claremont Club

No. 12-ranked Jumbos too much for Knights

Kristina Conrad
Kristina Conrad
Photo: Hugh O'Connor '20

CLAREMONT, Calif. – The Carleton College women’s tennis team continued its spring break visit to Southern California with a match against No. 12-ranked Tufts University. Although the Knights entered the week nationally ranked themselves, the Jumbos proved too strong for Carleton in posting a 9-0 victory.

The doubles pairing of Iman Qureshi (Fy./Lahore, Pakistan/Lahore Grammar School) and Madeline Prins (Fy./Pacific Palisades, Calif./Palisades Charter) absorbed its first loss of the season, dropping an 8-4 result at the first slot in the lineup.

Caitlin Shea (Sr./Joliet, Ill./Joliet Township West) and Danielle Vasiliev (Jr./Lincolnshire, Ill./Stevenson) came closest to securing a team point but came up just short in a 9-7 setback at the second spot, while Alana Danieu (Jr./East Aurora, N.Y./East Aurora) and Zoe Park (Fy./Lake Forest, Ill./Lake Forest) dropped the third doubles match by an 8-3 tally.

Tufts won all six singles matches in straight sets to blemish the records of three Knights. Kristina Conrad (So./Plymouth, Minn./Robbinsdale Armstrong) fell 6-2, 7-5 to suffer her first loss of 2017 in either singles or doubles, while both Qureshi and Park lost to D-III opponents for the first time this year.

Carleton plays its third consecutive nationally-ranked opponent on Wednesday, March 22 as the Knights visit No. 28-ranked University of Redlands at 4 p.m. PDT/6 p.m. CDT.

-------------------