Skip Navigation

Varsity Athletics

Women's Tennis

Carleton Athletics

Schedule and Results

Result: W 5-0

Women's Tennis at NCAA Championships - First Round

Friday, May 11th, 2012 – 2:00 p.m. at Chicago, Ill. - Univ. of Chicago's Stagg Field Tennis Complex

2012 NCAA Division III Tennis Championship Information

2012 NCAA Women's Tennis Championships Logo (banner)

2012 NCAA Women's Tennis Championship website

Regional website (includes links to live stats)

Printable Bracket (PDF)

Univ. of Chicago information:
Campus Map (tennis courts are in top left corner) | Visitor's Guide (lodging and food info)

There is no spectator charge for the regional tournament.

In the event of inclement weather, matches will be played indoors at
the Hyde Park Bally's Sports Club located at 1301 East 47th Street.


NORTHFIELD, Minn. — The Carleton College women’s tennis team (18-5) will open play at the 2012 NCAA Division III Tennis Championships on Friday, May 11. The University of Chicago is the host for the six-team regional.

The Knights will take the court at 2:00 p.m. on Friday versus Grinnell College (19-3). In the other opening match, UW-Whitewater (21-4) faces Wisconsin Lutheran College (17-10) at 10:00 a.m.

Washington University (Mo.) and Chicago are the top two seeds in the regional, thus garnering first-round byes. Washington will play the UW-Whitewater/Wisconsin Lutheran winner at 10:00 a.m. on Saturday, May 12, followed by Chicago playing the Carleton/Grinnell winner at 2:00 p.m.

Four of the six teams in the regional are nationally ranked. Chicago is ranked No. 2, Washington Univ. is No. 11, UW-Whitewater is No. 21, and Carleton is listed at No. 30 in the latest poll released by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

A total of 49 teams are in the field for the women’s tournament. Carleton is one of 38 automatic qualifiers, having secured the MIAC’s bid with a 5-3 victory over Gustavus in the finals of the conference tournament. There are three “Pool B” teams (true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions). The remaining eight teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions. The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The winner of the Chicago regional will join seven other regional winners at the team championship finals, which will be held May 21-23 in Cary, N.C.

2012 NCAA Women's Tennis Championships Logo (square)

More Event Info