Dacie Moses Award

Dacie Moses lived at 110 Union Street, three houses from the Carleton campus. She was involved with Carleton for 75 years, including 50 years as an employee of the College. For the last 25 years of her life, until her death at age 97 in January 1981, her home was open to students 24 hours a day. There students found coffee, cribbage, and cookies, but mostly, they found warmth, generosity, openness, hospitality, humor and acceptance. Dacie helped others through various crises even while she was overcoming her own problems and at the expense of her own privacy and grocery bill; yet she was a person who counted the length of her life by friends and not years. Her generous lifestyle -- not dependent on wealth, health, power or position -- inspired students and friends of all ages.

The Dacie Moses Award was established in 1981. Each year the Alumni Association presents the Dacie Moses Award to the senior or seniors who best exemplify the characteristics of Dacie. To nominate someone, please fill out a nomination form by Friday of the second week of spring term. Include in each nomination:

  • the names of three (but please, no more) other persons at Carleton, including at least one student and one faculty/staff member, whom you could ask to write in support of your candidate, and
  • a short statement of your own reasons as to why your nominee would be an appropriate recipient.


Past Recipients

2015 Lindsay Turchan
2014 Erica Rachel Lobel and Isaama Marian Stoll
2013 Margaret Elizabeth Tuta
2012 Jacob Canfield
2011 Kelly Marie Thomas
2010 Sarah Nicole Forzley
2009 Christoph B. Terwitte
2008 Robert Keegan Thomas
2007 Lori Anna Halvorson
2006 Wendy Mila Sepponen
2005 Katie Thompson Newell
2004 Sara Renee McIntyre
2003 Suzanne Marie Schaffer
2002 Rebecca Diane Hurwitz
2001 Peter Andrew McAuliffe
2000 Katherine Hester Elderkin
1999 Jaynie Leung
1998 Elena Ann Contreras
1997 Nicole M. Loinaz
1996 Leah von Reyn
1995 Linda Katherine Jesdale
1993 Eithne-Marie Noelle Barton
1992 Elisabeth Ann Gilbert and Elizabeth Elliott Schuster
1991 Dawn Reckinger and Sarah Catherine Maier
1990 Maria Consuelo Farmer
1989 Jennifer A. Bonner (posthumously)
1987 Eden Toshiko Inoway
1986 Christine Marie Ruggle and Patricia Marie Shanahan
1985 Karen Elizabeth Hopkins
1984 Douglas Arthur Bridge and Thomas Edward LaTourrette
1983 Janet Carol Larsen, Gretchen Marguerite Revie and Jane Katharine Woodwell
1982 Kathleen Stella Falkowski and John Wright Sither
1981 Kimberly Ann Jones and Bonnie Jean Rohr