Skip Navigation

Please note: this site is no longer maintained and is presented for archival purposes only.

Faculty Growth

Restricted and unrestricted campaign gifts have supported the addition of 15 new faculty positions. Opportunities exist to establish permanent endowed funds to support the faculty. This list also includes strategic hires to enhance faculty diversity and to fill ongoing leave replacement positions with tenure-track faculty members.

  • Art and Art History
    Ross Elfline—art history, architecture
  • Biology         
    Nidanie Henderson—biochemistry, molecular biophysics
  • Biology
    Raka Mitra—cell biology, microbial pathology
  • Chemistry
    Matthew Whited (arriving fall 2011)—chemistry, inorganic chemistry
  • Cinema and Media Studies
    Jay Beck—film sound history and technology
    Search underway for one additional position
  • Classical Languages
    Yaron Klein—Arabic language and literature
  • Computer Science
    Sherri Goings—evolutionary computation
  • Economics
    Aaron Swoboda—environmental and natural resource economics
  • Environmental Studies
    Tsegaye Nega—geospatial analysis
  • Linguistics
    Cati Fortin—syntax
  • Mathematics
    Helen Wong—linear algebra, topology
  • Physics and Astronomy
    Marty Baylor—optics, electromagnetism
  • Political Science
    Dev Gupta—social movements, comparative nationalism, ethnic conflict
  • Psychology  
    Ken Abrams—health psychology, psychopathology, philosophy of science
  • Sociology and Anthropology
    Peter Brandon—Broom Professor of Social Demography
  • Spanish        
    Yansi Pérez—Latin American literature and culture