Current Scholarship Awards

The following grants and awards provide scholarship money for students demonstrating financial need. As with the endowed scholarship funds, students need not apply for these scholarships directly; they are awarded at the discretion of the College and administered as an integral part of Carleton’s financial aid program.

THE CHARLES AND ELLORA ALLISS EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP, created in 1960 under the will of Charles Clifford Alliss, offers scholarship aid to residents of Minnesota.

THE DAVIES SCHOLARSHIP was established in 1983 by Mr. and Mrs. John G. Davies to provide financial assistance to students from single-parent households. The Davies are the parents of Wanda Davies, Class of 1978.

THE DONALD SCHOLARS FUND was established in 2001 by Arnold and Hazel Donald, Carleton alumni from the Class of 1976. Recipients are selected from applicants of St. Augustine High School and Xavier University Preparatory School in New Orleans, Louisiana.

THE DOOR COUNTY SCHOLARSHIP was established by Spencer ’52 and Barbara ’57 Gould in 2003. Preference for awards will be made to students originally from Door County, Wisconsin. Scholarships may also be awarded to students from small towns and rural areas of Wisconsin, or to students of color from Wisconsin.

THE DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP is awarded annually to chemistry majors planning to continue their studies at the graduate level.

THE MARY FJELSTAD FACCIANI SCHOLARSHIP was established in 1980 and is funded by Clara Facciani and Rudolph Facciani in memory of their daughter-in-law Mary, Class of 1971, to assist music students at Carleton.

THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF NORTHFIELD SCHOLARSHIP was established in 1998 for the benefit of Northfield High School graduates. Two scholarships are awarded each year to first year students and are renewable based on academic performance.

THE GEORGE INTERNATIONAL FELLOWS FUND was established in 1999 by the George Family Foundation. Preference for awards will be given to students from developing nations who demonstrate economic need and exceptional academic potential and promise.

THE ADA HARRISON SCHOLARSHIP FOR THE CAMBRIDGE EXPERIENCE was created in 1996 by the Weissman family to honor Ada Harrison, a 30-year member of the economics department faculty. The fund supports students with financial need who attend the Carleton Economics Seminar in Cambridge, England.

THE CLAIRE SCHMUCKEL LANDAU ’37 ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP was established in 2002 by Richard and Claire Landau to support students studying music.

THE ERIC LASLEY ’66 SCHOLARSHIP FOR PHYSICAL AND MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES was established in 2010 by Eric Lasley to provide financial support to junior or senior physics, astronomy, math, or computer science majors who demonstrate academic excellence and who plan to attend graduate school and pursue a career in their major. 

THE VERNON JAMES PICK FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP is funded by the Vernon James Pick Foundation and awarded to junior or senior science majors of outstanding merit.

THE JUDITH ANN SOSTED ’61 SCHOLARSHIP FUND FOR OFF-CAMPUS STUDIES was established in 2003 to support female students participating in an off-campus study program.

THE STARR FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP FOR THE “ASIA IN COMPARATIVE PERSPECTIVE” PROGRAM was established in 1997 by the Starr Foundation to support students attending Carleton from Asian countries.

SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANTS are available through limited funds provided to the College each year by the federal government. Grants are restricted to students with exceptional financial need.