Current Scholarship Awards

The following grants and awards provide scholarship money for students demonstrating financial need. As with the endowed scholarship funds, students need not apply for these scholarships directly; they are awarded at the discretion of the College and administered as an integral part of Carleton’s financial aid program.

THE CARLETON-NEBRASKA CONNECTIONS SCHOLARSHIP was established in 2010 through a grant from the Robert B. Daugherty Charitable Foundation to provide educational opportunities for Nebraska students who would not readily seek out a highly selective, national, small liberal arts college; and to provide them with the support mechanisms necessary for their success. 

THE CHARLES AND ELLORA ALLISS EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP, created in 1960 under the will of Charles Clifford Alliss, offers scholarship aid to residents of Minnesota.

THE PETRA CROSBY INTERNATIONAL SCHOLARHSIP was created in 2010 by alumni, colleagues and friends of Petra Crosby to honor her service to international students at Carleton College and to carry on her commitment to seeing that every talented international student who wants a Carleton education will have the resources to make that dream come true.

THE DAVIES SCHOLARSHIP was established in 1983 by Mr. and Mrs. John G. Davies to provide financial assistance to students from single-parent households. The Davies are the parents of Wanda Davies, Class of 1978.

THE DONALD SCHOLARS FUND was established in 2001 by Arnold and Hazel Donald, Carleton alumni from the Class of 1976. Recipients are selected from applicants of St. Augustine High School and Xavier University Preparatory School in New Orleans, Louisiana.

THE MARY FJELSTAD FACCIANI SCHOLARSHIP was established in 1980 and is funded by Clara Facciani and Rudolph Facciani in memory of their daughter-in-law Mary, Class of 1971, to assist music students at Carleton.

THE GEORGE INTERNATIONAL FELLOWS FUND was established in 1999 by the George Family Foundation. Preference for awards given to students from developing nations who demonstrate economic need and exceptional academic potential and promise.

THE ADA HARRISON SCHOLARSHIP FOR THE CAMBRIDGE EXPERIENCE was created in 1996 by the Weissman family to honor Ada Harrison, a 30-year member of the economics department faculty. The fund supports students with financial need who attend the Carleton Economics Seminar in Cambridge, England.

THE CLAIRE SCHMUCKEL LANDAU ’37 ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIP was established in 2002 by Richard and Claire Landau to support students studying music.

THE ERIC LASLEY ’66 SCHOLARSHIP FOR PHYSICAL AND MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES was established in 2010 by Eric Lasley to provide financial support to junior or senior physics, astronomy, math, or computer science majors who demonstrate academic excellence and who plan to attend graduate school and pursue a career in their major. 

THE VERNON JAMES PICK FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP is funded by the Vernon James Pick Foundation and awarded to junior or senior science majors of outstanding merit.

THE JUDITH ANN SOSTED ’61 SCHOLARSHIP FUND FOR OFF-CAMPUS STUDIES was established in 2003 to support female students participating in an off-campus study program.

THE STARR FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIP FOR THE “ASIA IN COMPARATIVE PERSPECTIVE” PROGRAM was established in 1997 by the Starr Foundation to support students attending Carleton from Asian countries.

SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANTS are available through limited funds provided to the College each year by the federal government. Grants are restricted to students with exceptional financial need.