Skip Navigation

Registering for your Preferred Sections

Register and Drop Sections screen on The Hub

The “Preferred Sections” or “Register and Drop Sections” screen can be accessed via these three links on the Registration page: "Express Registration," "Search and Register for Sections," or "Register for Previously Selected Sections." Click reload if the screen comes up blank. The top part of the page lists your preferred sections (the sections you have already pre-selected) and the bottom part shows courses for which you are already registered. If you wish to register for a course in your preferred sections list, choose “Register” in the pull-down box. If you wish to waitlist a course, choose “Waitlist.” Click Submit.

If you are already enrolled in courses for the upcoming term, you may also drop a course via this screen. Scroll down to the middle section of the page where your registered courses are listed, check the drop box to the far left of the section in question and click Submit.

This is an “all or nothing” screen if you choose the “allow me to adjust all” drop-down option at the bottom of the screen. All of the transactions you request must clear the process or none of them will. If you choose the “complete only available” drop-down option, partial transactions will be allowed (Warning: this means you could be dropped from a course even if the course you wanted to add is closed). It’s typically best not to try to do too many transactions at once. Note meeting times as you make your choices; time conflicts will not be allowed. If you have made arrangements with your instructors to register for conflicting courses, see the Registrar's Office to complete this portion of your registration.

Note: If you wish to elect the S/CR/NC grading option for one of your courses, you must complete and submit the proper form to the Registrar's Office. S/Cr/NC deadlines are published on the Registrar's website under the current Academic Calendar.

Registration Results screen on The Hub

The upper part of the page shows any actions taken. A status of Registered for this section indicates that you are registered for that course. A status of Added to waitlist indicates that the section is closed and that you are waitlisted for it or that instructor permission is needed to enroll in this course. The middle section shows the courses in which you are registered and the bottom section indicates your waitlisted sections. If the instructor decides to let you into a waitlisted or instructor permission required course, you must submit a completed drop/add card to the Registrar's Office within the official drop/add deadline in order to complete this registration. See the current online Academic Calendar for deadline dates. If your registration request(s) failed, you will be brought back to the “Register and Drop Sections” screen; messages explaining these registration failures will appear at the top of the page. You may register for a maximum of 22 credits in any given term. Overloads of up to 24 credits must be approved by the Academic Standing Committee. You must petition the Committee to take 23 or 24 credits.

If you registered for Music Lessons, be sure to fill out a Music Scheduling Form available via the Forms for Students link on the Registrar's home page.

If you waitlisted for a Studio Art course, you must submit a Studio Art Course Application Form, also available via the Forms for Students link on the Registrar's home page.

If you wish to remove yourself from a waitlist, click on Manage My Waitlist at the bottom of the page.

Manage My Waitlist screen on The Hub

Select “Remove” in the left-hand pull-down box and click Submit. Although the "RG-Register" option appears in the Action box, registering online for a waitlisted course is not an option for you. You must submit a signed drop/add card to the Registrar's Office within published deadlines to register for a waitlisted course. Drop/Add cards are available in the Registrar's Office beginning on the first day of classes.

Registration Results screen on The Hub

A status of “Dropped from waitlist” indicates that you have successfully removed yourself from the course waitlist.

You may confirm your registration at any time by going to the Students menu and clicking on My Class Schedule in the Academic Profile Section.