Cowling Cup

Established in 2001, the Donald J. Cowling Cup is awarded for distinguished achievement by an individual in any field of endeavor or for extraordinary service to Carleton.

The award is named in honor of Donald J. Cowling, Carleton's third and longest-serving president (1909-45). President Cowling built Carleton into a nationally known institution, developed the main campus, created the Arboretum, and sustained the College financially during the Great Depression and World Wars I and II. A noted national leader in education, he was a founding member of the Association of American Colleges and the first president of the American Council on Education.

This award pays tribute to those who have demonstrated uncommon leadership, and may be awarded to Carleton alumni, current and past trustees, current and former faculty and staff members, Carleton parents, and other friends of the college. Nominations are made to the Carleton president, who then recommends candidates to the Board of Trustees for approval. The silver Cowling Cup was designed by Carleton art professor Timothy L. Lloyd.

Cowling Cup Recipients

  • David F. Appleyard '61
  • George L. Cassat '46, P '73
  • Patricia D. Cassat '46, P '73
  • Phyllis D. Colwell '52
  • Thomas G. Colwell '52
  • Robert B. Daugherty '43
  • Charles A. Donnell Jr. '54, P '82
  • Zoe Donnell '55, P '82
  • Robert L. Gale '48, P '78
  • Michael Gartner '60
  • Spencer T. Gould '52, P '85
  • Barbara S. Gould '57, P '85
  • Lloyd P. Johnson '52
  • Charles W. Johnson
  • Melvin R. Laird '44, H '10
  • Lily L. Levin P '87, '88
  • Ward B. Lewis '32
  • Perry C. Mason
  • Elizabeth McKinsey
  • Ann Crosby Nicholson '58, P '88
  • Jon M. Nicholson '58, P '88
  • Ruth Nutting '42
  • Robert Rue Parsonage '59
  • Sandra Roe
  • Mary H. Rice '62, P '92
  • Robert A. Roth '69
  • Arthur R. Schulze Jr. '52
  • Bardwell L. Smith

(H) indicates honorary degree holder
(P) indicates Carleton parent