This is a compilation of press releases issued by Carleton College. See the Carleton Now website for more stories about Carleton. If you have a suggestion for a press release, please contact the Media Relations office.

McCammon Awarded Beinecke Scholarship for Graduate Study

June 11, 2012

Northfield, Minn.––Muira McCammon ‘13 (Hilton Head Island, S.C.) of Carleton College has earned an esteemed Beinecke Scholarship.

Each Beinecke Scholar receives $4,000 to use for visiting potential graduate schools and another $30,000 to apply towards graduate school tuition. There are no geographic restrictions on the use of the scholarship, and recipients are allowed to supplement the award with other scholarships, assistantships, and research grants.

“Muira is passionately interested in building bridges between cultures,” Carleton director of student fellowships Elizabeth Ciner said. “She will be applying to graduate programs with a focus on translation and/or educational studies. Eventually, she also hopes to earn a JD.” At Carleton, she is majoring in both international relations and French and Francophone studies, and also plans to complete concentrations in cross-cultural studies and European studies.

McCammon’s research and coursework at Carleton has taken her to the United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Latvia, Spain, the Netherlands, Belgium, France, and throughout the United States. She received the International Center for Academic Integrity’s Donald McCabe award for her research on British undergraduate judiciaries at Oxford, Cambridge, and the London School of Economics. Additionally, she conducted fieldwork on European political economy in Spain and Belgium last spring as a Benjamin A. Gilman Scholar.

“I'm so incredibly grateful for all the institutional support I have received as well as the holistic guidance I have had from President Steve Poskanzer; associate dean of students Joe Baggot, director Liz Ciner; professors Devashree Gupta, Chris Polt, Dana Strand, Cathy Yandell, Sigi Leonhard, Richard Keiser, and Alfred Montero; director of academic civic engagement Adrienne Falcon; board of trustee member David Diamond '80; alumnus David Gappa '87; my friend and fellow Carl, Rachel Levit ‘13; and so many others. I wish I could name them all here.”

In addition to her coursework, McCammon received the Hanson Ethics Fellowship last summer to study how American and British universities respond to cheating, plagiarism, and intellectual dishonesty. This summer, Carleton’s Class of 1963 Fellowship will allow her to write a college advice guidebook for exceptionally young and gifted students who have skipped multiple years of school. “My goal, in these next few months, is to examine what sorts of nontraditional options exist for particularly passionate and smart secondary school students in the U.S.  In the long-run, though, I’m interested in seeing how concepts such as adulthood, children’s rights, and ageism translate across cultures,” she said.

Last December, McCammon worked as a legal extern for the Department of Justice’s Child Exploitation, Cyber, and Intellectual Property Issues Coordinator at the Executive Office for U.S. Attorneys. She is a student representative on four educational policymaking committees at Carleton. This year, she served as a campus representative to the Clinton Global Initiative University annual conference at George Washington University and to the Project Pericles’ Debating for Democracy summit at the New School. She was also a 2012 Truman Scholarship Finalist and facilitates cross-cultural dialogues for Soliya, a partner of the United Nations’ Alliance of Civilizations Initiative. 

Muira is the daughter of Keene and Cindy McCammon of Hilton Head Island, S.C. She is also a James L. Krum Memorial Scholar, awarded by the Community Foundation of the Lowcountry for “outstanding academic achievement... complimented by an extraordinary history of ongoing-service to their school and community.”

The Beinecke Scholarship Program was established in 1971 by the board of directors of The Sperry and Hutchinson Company to honor Edwin, Frederick, and Walter Beinecke. The Board created an endowment to provide substantial scholarships for the graduate education of young men and women of exceptional promise. The program seeks to encourage and enable highly motivated students to pursue opportunities available to them and to be courageous in the selection of a graduate course of study in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Since 1975 the program has selected more than 490 college juniors from more than 100 different undergraduate institutions for support during graduate study at any accredited university.”