2008 Alumni Association Awards

The Alumni Association presents awards for Distinguished Achievement and Exceptional Service at reunion each year, in addition to honoring a recent graduate with the In the Spirit of Carleton Award. Nominations are from classmates and faculty; decisions are made by the Alumni Council's Awards and Nominations Committee.

Alumni Association Award Recipients, 2008

Distinguished Achievement
The criteria include outstanding achievement within a particular field or fields of accomplishment, and recognition may be for either professional accomplishments or community service.

John Clay ’43 – extensive, lifelong achievements and leadership as a community, civic and political activist. He was senior adviser to Carol Moseley Braun’s Senate campaign; V.P. candidate in Eugene McCarthy’s ’76 presidential bid; and longtime Chicago lawyer who received a Citation for Distinguished Public Service from the Public Interest Law Initiative.

Robert Mars ’48 – distinguished lifelong leadership in community service in Duluth, MN and across the state, including extensive leadership at all levels of education; served as president of the MN State Board of Community Colleges, chair of Duluth School Board, chair of St. Scholastica Board of Trustees, among many other roles.

William Ammentorp ’58 – distinguished professor and chair of educational policy and administration, University of MN; national leader in development of educational policy and faculty/curriculum development for two-year colleges; co-founded the Leadership Academy for two-year education; and is celebrated as a much-loved mentor to more than 160 doctoral students.

Bonny Bray Armacost ’58 – accomplished pianist who has helped raise considerable funds for charitable organizations around the world, mostly in support of arts and other educational programs for children. Her performances with top musicians in the Philippines, Japan and throughout Europe, South America and Asia, receive rave reviews.

Sadao Asada ’58 –has received international acclaim as a distinguished historian of Japanese-American relations, maritime and diplomatic history. One historian noted that Asada “deserves honor as the most courageous… among historians working in the field” of Japanese history during WWII, as his work is shifting the terms of a major contemporary political debate within Japan.

Kai Bird ’73 – acclaimed, award-winning journalist and historian, best known for his biographies of political figures. Bird and co-author Martin J. Sherwin won the 2006 Pulitzer Prize in biography for American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer (Knopf, 2005). He and Sherwin also won the 2005 National Book Critics Circle Award for that book. Bird has received almost every honor possible in his field.

Pipo Nguyen-duy ’83 – critically acclaimed, widely exhibited and collected photographer and teacher, described as one of the most interesting and exciting photographers currently working. His work focuses on themes of identity, self-imaging/imagining, and displacement.

Vickie Bertramson Sullivan ’83 – recognized internationally as a foremost scholar of political philosophy, and specifically as the leading scholar on Machiavelli and his impact on political thought. She is Dean of Academic Affairs and a popular teacher at Tufts University.

Ann Parson Wallin ’83 – recognized for her contributions and patents in chemistry, and her efforts in sustainable chemistry. She is an expert in the area of persistent toxic substances and is a global leader for sustainability, public policy and issues for Dow Chemical, having played a key role in facilitating the Stockholm Convention being adopted as a global standard for elimination and risk reduction for persistent toxic substances.

Exceptional Service
These awards honor Carleton alumni and friends. Criteria include exceptional service that contributes substantially to the well-being of the College by furthering its purposes and programs. Employees, trustees and board members are eligible if they have retired or completed their employment or service. This recognition is not restricted to alumni and may include friends, faculty, administrators or others who have served the College.

Lee Mauk ’63 – instrumental in the founding and development of Out After Carleton, and in helping influence attitudes toward gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender students. In addition Lee served as president of the Alumni Board/Alumni Council and has been a key volunteer for his class reunion committees. He currently serves as the alumni observer for the College Council.

Anne Katata ’78 – extensive involvement in almost all volunteer areas, including Alumni Council service, significant leadership on reunion committees and leadership of the Multicultural Alumni Network Gathering Committee. Anne’s work to influence attitudes about the importance of diversity has had far-reaching effects.

Myles Bakke – Myles was nominated by the ’83 reunion committee for his dedicated service to the College through his transformative restoration work on the Cowling Arboretum. During his tenure the majority of the Arb landscape has been restored from agricultural use to prairie or forest. “He has quite literally grown the Arb,” notes Professor Mark McKone (former Director of the Arb). Myles also founded a student naturalist program and has led countless tours for alumni, students and other visitors.

In the Spirit of Carleton
This award honors a Carleton alum from one of the most recent 15 classes who has made a significant contribution to civic or professional organizations and who demonstrates the attributes of Carleton's liberal arts education. This person should have exhibited creativity, purposefulness and a commitment to quality and improving their community. The recipient will be asked to return to campus in order to share his or her expertise with students during a visit of a few days.

Kao Kalia Yang ’03 – recognized for her accomplishments in writing, contributions to the Twin Cities Hmong community, and starting a “words consulting” business catering to the immigrant population in Minnesota. A former refugee, Kao has demonstrated a strong commitment to community, and to finding creative ways to address issues faced by MN immigrant populations.